Historic Properties

"Every landmark has a story...." --Elizabeth Bishop Perkins

Historic buildings are open Memorial Day through Marketfest

In addition to nine historic museum buildings, seven of which are listed on the National Register of Historic Places, an archival library and a 17 acre nature preserve, the museum holds several conservation and preservation easements on historic properties within the community and owns the Harry Winebaum Curatorial Storage and Study Center in York Beach. The museum also maintains Snowshoe Rock on Chase's Pond Road, a site associated with the 1692 Candlemas Raid, and the Second Parish Graveyard on Route 91. Among the many early graves is a monument to the 18th century York minister, Joseph "Handkerchief" Moody.

The Museums of Old York

Remick Barn

Virginia Weare Parsons Education Center/Remick Gallery The Parsons Center is fully handicapped accessible, offers visitor amenities and hosts several programs for inquisitive minds of all ages.

Jefferds' Tavern

Jefferds Tavern: 1754 Jefferds Tavern showcases original colonial era elements, such as Georgian style doors and paneling, alongside romanticized notions from the colonial revival period.

Old Schoolhouse

Old Schoolhouse: 1745 Visit the only remaining one-room schoolhouse in York and imagine yourself taking part in an 18th century school lesson. Look closely and you will see the initials and graffiti of ships scratched into the walls.

Emerson-Wilcox House

Emerson-Wilcox House: 1742 Over the past 250 years, the Emerson-Wilcox House has served as a general store, stage tavern, tailor shop, post office and home. Today it houses the finest of the museum's collections!

Old Gaol

Old Gaol: 1719 Having served as a prison from 1719~1860, the Old Gaol is one of the oldest British public buildings in the United States and is recognized as a National Historic Landmark.

Ramsdell House

Ramsdell House: c. 1820 Originally two rooms around a central chimney, the Ramsdell House is in stark contrast to the large homes of the wealthy that most often survive as historic house museums. This is an ongoing restoration project, and parts of the house date back to the 1741.

John Hancock Warehouse

John Hancock Warehouse: 1740 Experience York's seafaring past at its only remaining colonial warehouse, and the only remaining commercial building from the colonial era, once owned by the famous American patriot.

George Marshall Store

George Marshall Store: 1870 Having once served as a general store, the George Marshall Store is now a contemporary art gallery with rotating exhibitions that feature some of the region's best professional artists.

Elizabeth Perkins House

Elizabeth Perkins House: 1730 Visit the riverside garden and relive the days of elegance and grace at the Elizabeth Perkins House, one of the finest examples of colonial revival decor in the region.

Steedman Woods

Steedman Woods: 1978 This seventeen acre natural woodland area was given to the Museums of Old York by Charles R. Steedman to be kept forever wild for the enjoyment of town residents.